STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

Office of the Governor



EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 1515

WHEREAS, on March 14, 2020, pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Mississippi and Miss. Code Ann. § 33-15-11(b)(17), I issued a Proclamation declaring that a State of Emergency exists in the State of Mississippi as a result of the outbreak of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, on January 31, 2020, the United States Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar declared a public health emergency for COVID-19 beginning on January 27, 2020, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization characterized COVID-19 as a pandemic, and on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States declared a nationwide state of emergency due to the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, the worldwide outbreak of COVID-19 and the effects of its extreme risk of person-toperson transmission throughout the United States and Mississippi significantly impact the life and health of our people, as well as the economy of Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, on March 26, 2020, the Mississippi State Department of Health announced new and expanded measures to increase testing and data analysis to identify regions and localities that are at higher risk for transmission of COVID-19 and to provide more location-specific restrictions and limitation of movement and social interaction to combat the virus in those regions and localities; and

WHEREAS, on May 28, 2020, I issued Executive Order 1492 establishing the statewide Safe Return order to restart the economy, open all businesses and non-profits operating within the State of Mississippi, and permit the resumption of community activities subject to limitations to minimize person to person interactions and associated risk of transmission of COVID-19 effective 8:00 a.m. on Monday, June 1, 2020, and remaining in full force and effect until 8:00 a.m. on Monday, June 15, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the Safe Return instituted in Executive Order 1492, as amended and extended by Executive Orders 1496, 1500, 1505, 1508, 1511 and 1514 has been extended and remains in full force and effect until 8:00 a.m. on Monday, August 17, 2020, unless it is modified, amended, rescinded, or superseded; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi must protect lives while restoring livelihoods, both of which can be achieved with the expert advice of medical professionals and business leaders; and

WHEREAS, while a majority of jurisdictions throughout Mississippi indicate a stabilized rate of diagnosis of new cases, it is necessary to maintain ample hospital ICU and ventilator capacity; and

WHEREAS, testing and contact tracing continues throughout the state, enabling healthcare providers and the State Health Officer to monitor and gauge the rate and locations of new cases with accurate information to promptly respond; and

WHEREAS, the State Health Officer has reported that data from certain jurisdictions and regions of the state (a) indicate periods of higher numbers of new cases over shorter periods of time accounting for larger percentage of the State's overall case count, (b) have higher percent incidence of positive cases per number of tests performed, (c) show evidence of shared workforce between jurisdictions with common risk factors, and (d) have other public health indicators reflecting on-going community transmission; and

WHEREAS, on July 10, 2020, upon counsel and recommendation of the State Health Officer, I issued Executive Order 1507 establishing additional measures necessary to disrupt the spread of the COVID-19 virus within Claiborne, Desoto, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Quitman, Rankin, Sunflower, Washington, and Wayne Counties; and

WHEREAS, on July 19, 2020, upon counsel and recommendation of the State Health Officer, I issued Executive Order 1509 establishing additional measures necessary to disrupt the spread of the COVID-19 virus in Bolivar, Claiborne, Covington, Desoto, Forrest, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Panola, Quitman, Rankin, Sharkey, Simpson, Sunflower, Tallahatchie,

Tate, Walthall, Washington and Wayne Counties to address and further limit person to person contact and implement other health and safety measures; and

WHEREAS, on July 24, 2020, upon the counsel and recommendation of the State Health Office, I issued Executive Order 1512 establishing additional measures necessary to disrupt the spread of the COVID-19 virus in Calhoun, Holmes, Lamar, Montgomery, Winston and Yalobusha Counties to address and further limit person to person contact and implement other health and safety measures; and

WHEREAS, upon counsel and recommendation of the State Health Officer, Carroll, Coahoma, Jones, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Noxubee, and Pontotoc Counties have also been identified as additional regions of the State that are at higher risk for transmission of COVID-19; accordingly, additional jurisdiction specific measures are necessary to disrupt the spread of the COVID-19 virus within those additional counties to address and further limit person to person contact and implement other health and safety measures.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Tate Reeves, Governor of the State of Mississippi, by the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Mississippi, and in consultation with the State Health Officer do hereby order and direct as follows:

- I. Paragraph I of Executive Order 1509 is amended to add Carroll, Coahoma, Jones, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Noxubee, and Pontotoc Counties.
- II. Executive Order 1509, as amended by Executive Order 1512 and herein shall be extended and shall remain in full force and effect until 8:00 a.m. on Monday, August 17, 2020, unless it is modified, amended, rescinded, or superseded.
- III. For Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Coahoma, Covington, Desoto, Forrest, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Jones, Lamar, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Noxubee, Panola, Pontotoc, Quitman, Rankin, Sharkey, Simpson, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Walthall, Washington, Wayne, Winston and Yalobusha Counties, the statewide Safe Return instituted in Executive Order 1492 as amended and extended by Executive Orders 1496, 1500, 1505, 1508, 1511 and 1514 shall remain in full force and effect as issued until 8:00 a.m. on Monday, August 17, 2020, subject to the additional limitations and restricts contained in Executive Order 1509.
- IV. This Executive Order shall be effective at 8:00 a.m. on Monday, August 3, 2020, and shall remain in full force and effect until 8:00 a.m. on Monday, August 17, 2020, unless it is modified, amended, rescinded, or superseded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi to be affixed.

DONE in the City of Jackson, on the <u>36²⁴ day</u> of July, in the year of our Lord, two thousand and twenty, and of the Independence of the United States of America, the two hundred and forty-fifth.

TATE REEVES GOVERNOR

BY THE GOVERNOR

MICHAEL WATSON SECRETARY OF STATE